Chamber Music Program



Lone Star State Trumpet Guild
San Angelo Museum of Fine Arts • Chamber Music Series
October17, 20212:00 PM


The Heavens Declare the Glory of GodBenedetto Marcello
arr. J. Klages

Forever RisingBernie Scherr

Charlier DosTheo Charlier
arr. G. Slechta

ConquestErik Morales
[Angelo State UniversityTrumpet EnsembleGOLD]

Groovy VampDavidMarlatt
[McMurryUniversity and Abilene Christian UniversityTrumpet Ensemble]

Ye Banks and Braes O’Bonnie DoonPercy Grainger
arr. B. Ford

Trumpet Cliché SouffleAndy Patterson

Dürrenhorn PassageKevin McKee
[Eastern New MexicoUniversityTrumpet Ensemble]

“Oblivion”Astor Piazzolla
arr. J. Irish

FanfaresAndré Chpelitch
1. Triomphale
2. En Écho
3. La Réjouissance

“Evening Prayer” from Hansel und GretelEngelbert Huperkinck
arr. J. Irish

Ice JourneyJasonBasoco
[Angelo State UniversityTrumpet EnsembleBLUE]

CityscapesErik Morales
I. Rush Hour
[Eastern New Mexico University Trumpet Ensemble]
TriumphalMarch” from Sigurd JorsalfarEdvard Greig
arr J. Irish

Trumpets Take Texasarr. James Olcott

Lone Star State Trumpet Guild
Over 60active International Trumpet Guild (ITG)affiliatechaptersrepresent individual schools,
states, geographic regions, and entire countries. In addition to furthering the ITG mission, each
affiliate serves professional and amateur trumpeters through various musical and educational
activities.Each affiliate chapteris considered a separate organization from the Guild and charged
with pursuing and upholding the principles and goals of the Guild. To highlight the international
stature of the ITG, newly-affiliated chapters hail from Canada, Taiwan, Russia, Republic of Benin,
and Nigeria. New chaptersin the USAincludeSouth Alabama, Boulder, Colorado, Greater Idaho,
Nebraska, Central Arkansas, University of Kentucky, and the Heart of Texas.

The Lone Star State Trumpet Guild (LSSTG)began as an idea to include trumpeters in West-
Central Texas in early 2016. Under the direction of Dr. David Amlung, its charter was received
from the ITGin September, 2016. The chapterheld itsinauguralTrumpet Festtwo months laterat
Angelo State Universityfeaturing the jazz trumpet icon, Bobby Shewand ITG Vice-President, Dr.
Cathy Leach. The festival showcased trumpet ensembles, master classes, instrument exhibits,
and a special workshop for high school trumpeters.

More recently,the LSSTG performed a concert of new music for trumpets at the 2018 ITG
conference in San Antonio. They also were featured at the prestigious 2019 Texas Music
Educators Association (TMEA) convention in San Antonio. In March, 2019, the chapterpresented
Trumpet Fest II, highlightingthe phenomenal virtuosity of trumpeter Rex Richardson, held at
Odessa College.The ensemble performed in Abilene in February, 2020 as part of the Chamber
Music Concert Series of The Church of the Heavenly Rest; they will also perform in the Chamber
Music Series of the San Angelo Museum of Fine Arts in October, 2021. The LSTTG islooking
forward to again be featured at the 2022 TMEA convention in San Antonio.

The chapter boasts a wide assortment of music for trumpet ensemble. Fortunate to have
composers and arrangers in the group, they have premièred threeoriginal works in addition to
performing an engaging number of music arranged specifically for the ensemble. Members of the
LSSTG come froma largeareaof west-central Texas that encompasses Abilene, Midland,
Odessa, San Angelo, Lubbock, theDallas/Ft. Worth Metroplex, and eastern New Mexico.

Lone Star State Trumpet GuildMembers Include:
Dr. David Amlung: McMurry University Abilene Christian University Hardin-Simmons
University Key City Brass
Mr. Eric Baker: Co-Principal Trumpet, Midland-Odessa Symphony ChoraleOdessa College
Lone Star Brass
Dr. Ben Fairfield: Principal Trumpet, Abilene Philharmonic OrchestraCo-Principal Trumpet,
Midland-Odessa Symphony Chorale• Lone Star Brass
Dr. Leigh Anne Hunsaker: Abilene Philharmonic Orchestra • Hardin-Simmons University(ret.)
Texas Camerata
Dr. John Irish: Principal Trumpet, San Angelo Symphony OrchestraMidland-OdessaSymphony
ChoraleAngelo State University
Dr. John Kennedy: San Angelo Symphony Orchestra • Artesia (NM) High School
Broadway Touring Shows
Mr. Jay Lester: Executive Director of Fine Arts, Abilene ISD • Big Spring Symphony
Big Country Brass
Dr. Sidney Shuler:Principal Trumpet, Southwest Symphony Orchestra Eastern New Mexico
Mr. Andy Patterson: Nichols Jr High band director, Arlington ISD • Big Country Brass
Dr. Bernie Scherr: Adjunct Instructor of Music, Hardin-Simmons University and McMurry University
Owner/operator, B&D Music Services, LLCKeyCity Brass


University Trumpet Ensembles

McMurry University/Abilene Christian University Trumpet Ensemble: Dr. David Amlung, Director
Royal CarnesKade CornJake Lathrop
Michael LesterAidan MartinVictoria Rodriguez

Eastern New Mexico Trumpet Ensembles: Dr. Sidney Shuler, Director
Dominique BarreraNatalie BegayeLuis Burke
Theron ColemanJared FishburnVictor Landa
Marcos LopezAdan MartinezJordan Moody
Ignacio PérezSidney Shuler

Angelo State University Trumpet Ensemble: Dr. John Irish, Director
Adolofo GaucinShaun HawkinsBenjamin Martin
Nick MartinezGabe MuñozWill Tipton

Nick AlvaradoManny Garcia
C.J. LemkeBailey Wells